2018 Burke Prize Exhibition at MAD Museum

The first annual Burke Prize awards a $50,000 prize to a US artist under the age of 45 who demonstrates excellence in clay, glass, metal, fiber, or wood. Jurors pared down to 16 finalists, with more than 30 pieces in the Burke Prize Exhibition at the MAD Museum. The exhibition will be on view through March 17, 2019. The winner will be announced at the MAD Ball on November 6, 2018, which is the museum’s annual fundraising gala.

The Burke Prize was made possible by longtime MAD supporters Marian and Russel Burke. 2018 Finalists include: Tanya Aguiñiga, Los Angeles; Leonardo Benzant, Richmond Hill, NY; Brittany Nicole Cox, Seattle; Annie Evelyn, Penland, NC; Josh Faught, San Francisco; Holland Houdek, Rochester, NY; Merritt Johnson, Sitka, AK; Heidi Lau, New York City; Ted Lott, Coopers-town, NY; Cannupa Hanska Luger, Glorieta, NM; Roberto Lugo, Elkins Park, PA; Anna Mlasowsky, Seattle; Jordan Nassar, New York City; William J. O’Brien, Chicago; Ibrahim Said, Greensboro, NC; Olivia Valentine, Des Moines, IA.

The 2018 jurors, led by MAD chief curator Shannon R. Stratton, were textile artist and ACC director of education Michael Radyk; author, scholar, and educator Jenni Sorkin; and educator and Critical Craft Forum director Namita Gupta Wiggers.

More information about this prize can be found here, and information on the MAD Museum exhibition can be found here.